Cleaning Frequency

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Fredo

Bearcat
I'm new to Firearms. I have two Ruger revolvers, a lcr 357 and a Wrangler. I clean them after every trip to the range
I'm thinking of purchasing a Security 9. Does a pistol need to be cleaned after every use too?

bear007

Bearcat
I don't have a Security 9 but I have a few other Ruger semi-auto handguns, they are all pretty durable guns. You will get answers across the board here but NO, it does not NEED to be cleaned after every use, though I do. It's relaxing time for me cleaning any of my firearms.

beentheredone

Single-Sixer
Only a black powder gun "needs" to be cleaned after every use -- and by that I mean, if you don't clean it NOW it will be a hunk of rust tomorrow. Cleaning a gun every time you use it is a good habit, but frankly most guns can do with nothing more than a wipe-down between shooting sessions for dozens or even hundreds of rounds.

I wipe my guns down after every use, even after fond handling or daily carry with no shooting, to prevent surface rust. But a thorough cleaning may not be done for weeks or months. I defy anyone to examine any of the many guns I have owned for 50 years and tell me they see one sign of neglect or abuse in any of them. You won't find any...

rammerjammer

Blackhawk
Depends

If it's a carry gun, clean it after each use.

I shoot about once per week. I do not clean range guns each time. That is simply far too much cleaning to do every week. Say for my 10/22 I clean once every 500-600 rounds so once every month and a half because I shoot 100 rounds through it each trip.

BULL'S-EYE

Blackhawk
While I'm typically not a particularly lazy person, I am where cleaning firearms (except when black powder is involved) is concerned...And don't do it anymore often than necessary to keep them functioning as they should.

bear007

Bearcat
... My EDC Max9 gets a weekly check to blow out any lint and lube as needed.