.45 Colt Handloading Guidance

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Ladies & Gents,
I recently acquired a very nice Ruger Blackhawk Medium frame .45Colt/.45ACP convertible from a brother forum member and have started reloading for it. I've loaded .45ACP in the past and have several favorite loads in my notebook, but I am a newbie when it comes to loading for the 45Colt. I have a supply of very nice 260 grain Keith style bullets that I acquired from another brother forum member and I am trying to develop some light and medium power loads using the powder that I have on hand for that particular bullet weight. My old and current Lyman manuals don't list data for the 260 grain bullet, only 255 grain and 325 grain so I am looking at the loads for the 255 grain. I figured these loads are only 5 grains lighter and should be safe using 260 grain loads. I know that giving out specific load data is not a good idea, but please let me know if I am headed in the right direction with the below loads. I also have a supply of 700X on hand.

1. Light to Medium Load~260 grain cast, Win. cases, CCI large pistol- 7.8 grains Unique ( My Little Dandy Rotor #15 throws 7.8 grs. of Unique)

2. Light Load-260 grain cast, Win. cases, CCI large pistol-4 grains Trail Boss

Many thanks,

Jimbo357mag

Hawkeye
I looked at some 45 colt loads (not +p or whatever) and with Unique it looks good for 7.5gr - 9.0gr with a 255-260gr bullet is a good load.

This site has lots of load data but it is from individuals so use caution.

http://www.handloads.com/loaddata/default.asp

mhblaw

Blackhawk
I have used 5.0 grs. Trail Boss with a 250 grain bullet and is a good shooter. You might be a little light at 4 grs.

Chuck 100 yd

Hunter
My normal CAS load for the .45 Colt is 6.0 gr trail boss under a 230-250 gr. Cast bullet. Even then they are soft loads that don't obturate as good as I would like and soot up the sides of the case. When this 5# jug is gone I will be switching to Red Dot.