Ruger cast or forged?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Gunsby_Blazen

Single-Sixer
A couple days ago a feller told me that Ruger cast their cylinders for their revolvers but i am not convinced they do. I know they have cast frames but cylinders?

I am sure i am gonna get a quick and fast answer to this one; you guys know your stuff!
(we were talking about my blued Bisley, if you wanna know for context)

thanks fellas!

5of7

Hunter
I thought that they were made from bar stock, but I have no sure knowledge on that.

I did read an article published by Carpenter regarding 454 cylinders, in which they said that those were cut from bar stock.

Sugar River

Buckeye
Yes, Ruger makes revolver cylinders from bar stock. I've seen the process many a time on the factory floor.

It's really a pretty simple question: Could you make cylinders by casting?
Sure, but why would you want to?
Much less expensive to buy stock, cut to length, and put 'em in the Bostomatic.

Pete

CraigC

Hawkeye
Agreed, they've always been cut from barstock. Even Heritage cuts their Rough Rider cylinders from barstock.

stantheman86

Buckeye
Just for a side note, Ruger casts the barrels for the SR9.

I asked the same question a few years back, the barrels and cylinders are cut from bar stock and the frames are cast. Made me feel a lot better, and then I went ahead and added about 20 more Sixes and GP's to my collection :D

JNewell

Single-Sixer
Bar stock is not forged in the sense most of us think of, however. Bar stock may be rolled, but that's different than hot drop forging process.

flatgate

Hawkeye
Ruger's Old Army utilized Investment Cast Cylinders. I refer the reader to Ruger and His Guns, p. 126.

Testing of the cast cylinders included a "full load" of BULLSEYE Smokeless, very fast burning powder! :shock:

flatgate

301689907.jpg

chet15

Hawkeye
stantheman86 said:
Just for a side note, Ruger casts the barrels for the SR9.

I think Ruger has always cast all of their centerfire auto pistol barrels.