Newcomer Needs a Bit of Advice, Please

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Viking Queen

Blackhawk
Gentlemen,

I am new to the "gun world", have two new Rugers, LCR and LC9, enjoy them quite a lot, but would like to learn more about older, early generations of Rugers, especially revolvers.

Do any of you have a recomendation on a good book that would get me started in the right direction? Is there a "bible" of Ruger firearms out there?

Thank you - Viking Queen

G2

Hunter
Start here;

http://www.gunpartscorp.com/catalog/Detail.aspx?pid=954200&catid=8349

Then here;

http://www.gunpartscorp.com/catalog/Detail.aspx?pid=305170&catid=8488

This one is sold out but might be able to find a copy right here in the classifieds. Place a WTB

AND,,,I have heard this is both of the above with a little more current/ up to date info. I don't know for sure,,, as I bought one of these from the Author a few years back at the NRA show in PHX, AZ and somehow left it behind in the Ruger Collectors Booth, Hope it shows it's face some day.... :roll:

http://www.gunandswordcollector.com/Templates/book%20pages/dougan.html

americal

Hunter
G2 is right--put a WTB add in the classified section --some books by Jeff Munnell also---WELCOME to the forum :D its not a easy subject but plenty of books out there--good time to buy older Rugers --money is tight --there have been some fine old model rugers in the classified that were priced right 8)

Viking Queen

Blackhawk
Thank you both, ever so much. I knew someone would come through for me.

What a wealth of information you all are, and generous in sharing that info as well.

Have a wonderful weekend! Viking Queen

flatgate

Hawkeye
Welcome to Ruger Forum!

In all honesty, IMHO, the links/books featured above aren't quite what you are looking for. You need a copy of Ruger and His Guns. I'm sure a Google Search would find you one.

61168998.jpg

My copy has given me much enjoyment and even a wee bit of knowledge.

JMHO,

flatgate

flatgate said: