Old Army Loads

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Tslepebull

Single-Sixer
Moderator this might be better in the reloading section but technically it is not reloading so here goes.

I picked up a nice blued Old Army (1973 production) at a gun show over the weekend. I have already purchased a Lee conical mould (456-220-1R) and want to develop a load with that bullet that is suitable for hunting wild hogs in the 50-120 lb range. My priorities in order are power followed by precision with economy a distant third. I have some experience with Colt and Remington replica BP revolvers but always used round ball projectiles at target pressures in defference to the brass frames.

What do the OA guru's suggest?

NorEaster

Blackhawk
Will you be sizing the bullet down at all?
I shoot conicals out of mine for SASS loads and found that a .453-.454 bullet seat best for me. I use American Pioneer Powder FFF which loads by volume not weight. APP does not need special lube as does true black powder. Given this, I am able to use bullets lubed with standard smokeless wax lube. I do still use a wad between load and bullet though.

Those who use Triple Seven report it to be a hotter powder and you may want to consider it for your hunting load. It too loads by volume.

I arrived at my load by using the following process.
Take a dowel and slide it into the chamber of the ROA. I then made a mark on the dowel with a sharp pencil that indicated the opening of the chamber. I then subtracted 1/8" as that is where I expected the nose of my seated bullet to be. From that mark I subtracted the length of my projectile and thickness of wad. At that point a mark was made on the dowel. The space from the mark to the end of my dowel indicated the measurement for my load.