Which gun would you use for deer?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

A.J.

Single-Sixer
I'm just getting into deer hunting. No luck yet. I don't yet own a dedicated deer rifle yet. Here are my current options. What would you hunt with?

1. Mossberg 500 shotgun with 24" smooth bore barrel and rifle sights. Foster slugs. (My current choice. Good out to 50 meters)

2. Ruger AR556 with 5 round magazine and expensive hollow points. Scope.

3. Mosin Nagant rifle with surplus FMJ 7.62x54r rounds. Iron sights.

4. M1 Garand CMP service grade with FMJ 30.06 surplus rounds. Iron sights.

All choices are legal in Michigan to hunt deer.

Busterswoodshop

Buckeye
Is it legal to hunt with FMJ ammo in Michigan ?
I sure wouldn't use it even if it was legal.

Of the 4 choices you give , I would use the AR556 with soft pointed bullets.
Second would be the Garand if you don't mind carrying it around.

GunnyGene

Hawkeye
FMJ is definitely not advisable unless you're hunting rhino's. The AR w/hollow points might work if you put the bullet in the right place - study up on deer anatomy. I'd go with the shotgun.

Here's a good article with pics:

https://www.wideopenspaces.com/the-great-deer-anatomy-explainer-and-what-you-need-to-know-as-a-hunter/

A.J.

Single-Sixer
Busterswoodshop said:
Is it legal to hunt with FMJ ammo in Michigan ?
I sure wouldn't use it even if it was legal.

Of the 4 choices you give , I would use the AR556 with soft pointed bullets.
Second would be the Garand if you don't mind carrying it around.

Yes. It's legal to hunt with FMJ in Michigan.

Weight is not an issue. I will be stationary most of the time.

Thank you for your quick response.

contender

Ruger Guru
Since weight isn't an issue,, I'd go with the 30-06 IF,, IF you have some different ammo. While FMJ ammo is what is used in the military,, it's not an ideal bullet. If that's what you choose,, I'd try HARD for a head shot. Otherwise,,, the FMJ will zip right through & not do the deer honor of a quick death.