Very happy first time gun owner (SR40c) (long post)

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Rei40c

Blackhawk
Hi all, I just wanted to share my experience with my first gun buy in my life and how the SR40c has preformed for me so far from a complete newbies perspective.

The first thing I did when I got it home was clean it thoroughly and apply oil thanks to some really good Youtube tutorials. My challenge was learning how to load the clip. Its funny looking back now, but I could not load them being new mags by hand. After some clunking around with the auto loader and finally figured out how to get the snap caps in. Once I got a feel for the basic functioning of the pistol it was time to go to the range.

This was actually an intimidating experience. I had zero firearms time under my belt and as I approached the counter I noticed a few grizzled looking fellows talking to the range employee who they where apparently friends with. "Hope they don't ask me any firearms questions." I thought as I approached, not wanting to make a complete fool of myself with my lack of knowledge. I decided not to bring up that it was my first trip in, wanting to blend in and just get to my lane to start learning.

Well I'm sure they picked me out from a mile away, right away as being new because after signing off on the range rules he called another employee to take me to my lane and gave me instruction on how to function the range controls, lights downrange ect. Might have been my fumbeling with my ear protection at the counter that gave me away. I have the fold up over the ear type, and being new they where hard to get down into place. :D