Timing...

Help Support Ruger Forum:

w18764560

Bearcat
Correct me if I'm wrong...
I'm no pro but I have pretty good skill when it comes to gunsmithing,
I just got a NMSBH .44mag..As I cock the hammer rearward I should see the bolt retract into the bolt slot..I should also see the cylinder begin to rotate at the precise moment that the bolt begins its downward movement...Correct? The Rugers are absoloutely new to me...

Well, the cylinder should start to rotate at or shortly after when the bolt drops out of the cylinder . . . not before. It's not a super precise combination of moves so long as the cylinder doesn't try to rotate BEFORE the bolt retracts.

:)

Well, the bolt drops onto the cylinder a "little bit" before the rotation allows it to drop into the notch on the cylinder. We kinda hope for a "coincidence" of the bolt falling into the notch on the cylinder and the pawl running out of stroke . . . and this immediately followed by the hammer arriving at "full cock". Seems to me the trigger pops forward somewhere in there, but I cannot recall exactly when. I don't think the New Models and the Old Models are alike in this respect.

None of mine work EXACTLY the same way.

w18764560

Bearcat
my 41 mag Bisley is not exactly the same either...but, if you observe the bolt, holding up to light between frame and cyl and slowly draw back(cock) hammer, you'll see the bolt start to drop, then the cylinder should start it's rotation and the trigger at the same time should move rearward, as if you were firing?

The trigger has to move to follow/engage the sear notch on the hammer, so yeah, something like what you are saying.

Sounds like you are quite able to observe the action of the gun. Why the questions?

w18764560

Bearcat
Well...just trying to make sure the timing is right...before I shoot it...
I've worked a few DA S+W's and SA Italians, I'm just not familiar enuff w/ the Rugers.

tommyt

Bearcat