Thread Locker on 3-Screw?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

rem58sport

Bearcat
I just fully striped and cleaned a new to me 1970 single six. The 2 rear grip frame screws and the lower front had a thread locker of some kind on them. I'm new to these Ruger's but I had not seen a mention of needing a thread sealer. I assume it is not necessary or recommended and I would prefer to not use.

Not needed right?

depends of when ( vintage) seen the older ones with a threadlocker called "Nylok" it was white and for a few years they came with a dab of 'red' on them.........and seen some that had NOTHING 'extra'.............ah, the "parts bin theory"......:cool::rolleyes:

rem58sport

Bearcat
Thank you. This was a red color and not like anything I have seen come from a tube in the last 30 years. It was thick, in fact I could not clean it all off the threads.

Even though this old SS is a bit rough, it didn't seem to have been apart much as the screw heads are very clean, just a bit rusty.

Without a bit of blue locktite my stainless NM SBH likes to loosen screws and launch the ejector rod housing assembly. A bit only. Too much is worse than not enough. Some of the screw holes enter the inner workings; which do not like locktite. Once is enough. This gun is the only one I use it on.
KRuger

hittman

Staff member
I've never had the need for locking or securing screws in any Ruger.
S&W ….. duh, of course.

I'd take up Wyandot Jims idea or use a dab of clear fingernail polish or maybe half a small drop of blue lock tite if absolutely needed.

Johnnu2

Hunter
Before I learned of Lok-Tite, I used my wife's clear nail polish.... I have both in the workshop...I find that almost all the screws on my OM guns work lose; BUT, I attribute that to me stripping my guns completely whenever I feel the need to deep clean things. The ejector housing screws are tricky critters now and then; and this week, I caught the spring-loaded cross screw that hold the cylinder pin in place was 'finger lose'.

J.