The nightmare of nursing home care

Help Support Ruger Forum:

vito

Hunter
I'll start this by saying that for 23 years I worked as a Nursing Home Administrator, and only was associated with homes considered of the highest quality, all in the not-for-profit sector. My last job before retiring was as the VP, Nursing Home Operations for a multi billion dollar Catholic health care corporation where I managed a dozen skilled nursing homes, almost all of whom were considered the best in their respective markets.

Even in the best of times, nursing home care is far from what most people envision as the care that they hoped for their loved one. Staffing is always inadequate to really meet the needs of the residents, and the quality of the staff is ALWAYS less than what is desired. With the strains of the pandemic, things are even worse, much worse, in skilled nursing home care. Since most nursing homes are dependent upon government programs for their revenue, primarily Medicaid and to a lesser extent Medicare for post-hospital care and rehab, inflation and labor cost increases have left nursing homes even less competitive than in the past for quality employees and for enough of these employees to provide quality service. This is the reality of this industry today and there is nothing on the horizon to think that it will get better.