Super Blackhawk Base Pin Jumping

Help Support Ruger Forum:

jore1944

Bearcat
I have New Model Super Blackhawk stainless 5.5 barrel. When I dry fire it the base pin jumps forward a few inches and I have to reposition it before it can be recocked. This gun has only had 26 rounds through the barrel and has never been disassembled that I am aware of (I'm the second owner). It appears to me that the base pin is installed backwards. When the base pin is in the full rearward position it does not lock in place and the locking groove is inside the cylinder. The end with the small pin is the end that is forward. Anybody else ever experienced this? I am new to revolver and am afraid to disassemble it myself to reverse the base pin. Any input will be appreciated.

gunman42782

Hunter
Sounds like you are right, if the small pin is forward, then it has been installed backwards. If it won't come out all the way, all you have to do is take off the ejector rod housing and it will come out. Pretty straight forward, you only have to remove one screw. If you could post a picture, that would help, just to make sure we are understanding exactly what you are describing. And welcome to the forum.

jore1944

Bearcat
Thanks for the welcome gunman42782.

I did exactly as you said, removed the screw holding the ejector to the barrel, moved the ejector just slightly to the side, removed and reversed the base pin and reinstalled the ejector and all is as it should be now. Working perfectly. It took less than two minutes.

Thanks for the help.

DPris

Buckeye
With a basepin installed backwards, I'm very curious about how you could cock the gun.

That small spring-loaded pin inside the basepin's required to create pressure against the transfer bar to enable the bar to clear the firing pin as the hammer comes back.
Without that pressure, typically the bar butts into the firing pin & won't allow the hammer to reach the full-cock position.
Denis

jore1944

Bearcat