SR9 brought me back to Ruger

Help Support Ruger Forum:

inuswetrust

Bearcat
First of all, huge thanks to Josh Hearn and Eric Galloway.

Now to my intro...
Back when the P85 was new, I was a police officer, and had GP100 on my right side, and a P85 in a shoulder rig. Even after the P85 recall, I still enjoyed the pistol, but after I left the department I got rid of both of my handguns, and bought the then new SW Sigma 9mm. The Sigma was great, and served me well over the last 15 years or so. Fast-forward to about a month ago when my wife decided that she wanted to shoot USPSA. We got her some pro training from a champion USPSA lady shooter who has a few custom 1911s. 2 in 9mm and 1 in .45. Of course my wife fell in love with the 1911, and we started looking for a nice 9mm for her. We found that there weren't too many options, and the good ones were pretty pricey. Then a guy at the LGS showed me an SR9. When I held it, I couldn't believe how slim it was for a double stack. When I pulled the trigger, I knew it was the one.

After I shot my wife's, I sold the Sigma and got a second SR9 for myself.
They're both stainless, and we're happy. WifEy wants to keep hers close to stock, but let me take the Mag Disconnect out so she can dry fire without the magazine (much easier to rack the slide). Also, it smoothed out the trigger a bit. Didn't reduce the pull, but removed a little of the gritty feel.
Having 2 of the same guns makes it easy to compare before and after mods.

As for my SR9, I've removed the DL (Jhearne's instructions and vids), polished the internals, and installed a Ghost Ultimate reset bar. Our 331 series guns already felt great, but the MD made a big difference for me. The Ghost didn't make a huge difference in feel to me, but feels a little smoother. For $20 bucks, it's worth it. I'm ordering a stainless guiderod, stainless striker indicator, and maybe a few springs from Galloway. Eric is not only a wealth of information, but a great guy.