Something awesome followed me home yesterday...

Help Support Ruger Forum:

frogger

Bearcat
I have been saving for a few months to get a new firearm. My plan was to buy a Mossberg 590A1 and use it as a secondary home defense gun (still prefer handguns and my primary is a Glock 17). However, I decided yesterday to hit all the local pawn shops and gun shops just to see if I could find something really special and hard to find before I bought a shotgun.

The first shop I hit was a bust, but it usually is. It is just happens to the be closest to my house so I took a chance to see. Nothing worth mentioning in the second shop either. The third shop did have a Glock 19 EXO and I was a bit tempted since I already have a Glock 17 EXO and it would have been cool to complete the set, but I passed. The 4th shop had a Ruger SP101 in .22LR that tempted me, but the fit and finish on this particular one was very bad so I passed. They also had a good price on a Ruger Single Ten that I might have gone back for if I hadn't found what I eventually bought.

The next shop I hit is one of my favorites and there in the counter was a 95+% Sig P220 Two-Tone. It was the older style two-tone when they still did the small parts silver too and not just the slide. It had no rail and very dim night sights and was marked "Made in Germany". It honestly looked brand new other than the aftermarket Hogue grips it was wearing. I thought hard about it, but decided to see what else was out there before I laid down the money. Also, their best price was $750 out the door and that would have taken pretty much every penny I had saved and I thought that was a tad high.

Next, I hit the newest and biggest gun shop in the area, but all I found was high prices and sales staff too busy to be bothered. Ugh.