Shoulder Holster - scoped Super Blackhawk Bisley Hunter

Help Support Ruger Forum:

south_ridge

Single-Sixer
All,

I have recently purchased a Super Blackhawk Bisley Hunter. I intend to scope it and use it to deer hunt this season. I would like to find a good shoulder holster for it. I would appreciate any insight and first-hand experience you have on the matter. Let me know what has worked (or not worked) for you.

Thanks,

SR

sixshot

Buckeye
Check out Mike Barranti's website & look at his North West Hunter rig, I've been using two of them for several years & they are amazing! Easy to move around & adjust to fit you, very comfortable, even if you wear them all day long. They work good walking, riding a horse, a 4 wheeler, etc. The shoulder strap is wide & padded, you'll be impressed!

Dick

contender

Ruger Guru
I can second sixshot's info on Doc Barranti's leather. I tried on one of sixshot's rigs several years ago,, and had to have one. Doc is one of THE best.
But,, you may have a wait to get a rig.
You may have to use something else this season,, unless he has something already about done etc.

south_ridge

Single-Sixer
Thanks for the input. I bought a holster from Mike several years ago for a Bearcat Shopkeeper, but I hadn't thought of looking at his website for some reason.

SR

Like Contender and Sixshot I use Mikes NW Hunter for my 7 1/2" Scoped bisley 414 supermag. I carried it on my antelope hunt and when it was time to shoot, there the gun was right where I left it when I got out of the truck! Right on my chest!

grobin

Blackhawk
Checkout https://epsaddlery.com/product/doc-holiday-holster/ the tanker may be better than the Doc Holliday given the size.

dad45

Single-Sixer