Semi-autos won't run

Help Support Ruger Forum:

HammerMTB

Bearcat
My first post on this forum. I spent some time searching to see if I might find some possible solutions as to why my 10/22 and MkII won't run reliably, but didn't find it.
I hope to tap the collective wisdom here for some possible solutions.
Based on past experience, I better give some background first.
I've been shooting and tinkering with guns for 40 years. Most times I can make 'em do what they are designed to do.
These 2 have been more than a little finicky. I should add that I am NOT pointing a finger at Ruger or any design issue. I work in a design/test facility (heavy-duty automotive, not gun related) and this is not a design issue, just a mechanics issue.
I will describe the 10/22 jams first.
In a nutshell, it has a lot of FTEs. Most times there is a spent casing stuck between bolt and breechface, and a new round pushed up part-way to battery along with the empty casing. The gun is freshly disassembled, cleaned, and oiled. I put a drop of oil on the first round in 2 mags to assure the chamber was oiled.
My thought is the spring is too strong for the ammo. The bolt doesn't slide all the way back, so the empty is carried forward again and jams the works. Has anyone fussed with springs? I will add that it is not just the ammo, I tried several different kinds. I also ran some of the ammo over my chrono, and velocities are ~1200 FPS, which should be plenty for cycling the action.
I have some 25 round aftermarket mags, and a stock 10 round, and all do the same thing.