Sellier & Bellot ammo at Cabelas

Help Support Ruger Forum:

aramp78

Bearcat
I see that Cabelas has Sellier & Bellot 124g FMJ ammo for $11.99/box. This is marked as "police training" ammo. Any feedback on Sellier & Bellot in general and this particular ammo. I am new to 9mm handgun and have only fired PMC, Winchester white box and Remington UMC.

This is a good price on the Sellier and Bellot.

From the prices around here, now, the price you've seen for S&B is pretty ballpark for the cheap Win or Rem ammo.

S&B? Any and all that I've shot, shoots just as perfectly as any other decent ammo.

WAYNO.

mattsbox99

Hunter
Yep, its good ammo, some of it was berdan primed, even the stuff in brass cases. I don't know if they have switched to boxer primers or not like CCI and Wolf, but check if you plan on reloading the cases.

41 mag fan

Single-Sixer
I couldn't find any 7.62x25 brass for a long time and finally bought a couple boxes of the S&B all of it was reloadable and never had a problem with it. Steve

BluedMoon

Bearcat
I've had no problems with S&B in 38 Special and 357.

FWIW - If you have an Academy Sports in your area, they've got Monarch 9mm for $7.99 per box (50) this week. It's the best price I've seen on plinking ammo in a *long* time.

Rick Courtright

Hawkeye
Hi,

I've never shot any new S&B 9mm. I've heard from some that it's loaded a bit "warm" by US standards, but I can't verify.

OTOH, I've scrounged and loaded many S&B nines. All were boxer primed. Only thing to be careful of is the primer pockets are usually tighter than other brands, so more effort's required to reprime...

Overall, it's been good to me!

Rick C

badchris

Bearcat
I've used S&B handgun caliber ammo in wheel guns, lever guns, and semi autos. All have functioned excellent. Accuracy has not been an issue. Overall a quality product, IMO.
Can't comment on the reloading aspect.
Hope it helps!

aramp78

Bearcat