Security Six 1980 Range Report

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Despite the hot temps here in Arizona, I headed to my local range for a little "Get to know you" session with my 1980 Security Six. I learned a thing or two today and I put my first rounds down range.

Rear sight was way high to start with and I should have seen that before I started shooting. First six rounds were not on paper at 25 yards. I moved the target stand to 15 yards and lowered the rear sight. Noted that the sight adjustment screws seem to be in pristine condition suggesting that they had either never been adjusted or that if adjusted, care was taken.

Adjusted sight down and down again and it is currently nearly bottomed out. At 15 yards, I still aim at 6 o'clock to get hits near the bull. I like this type of set up. I like to hold lower with a target above the front sight. 6 O'clock hold.

Shot 125 rounds of 158 grain Hornady XTP at a mid range load of about 1100 FPS per Hornady manual. I got her hot. Easy to do in 106 degree temps and shooting slow fire single action.

After about 50 rounds I noted that the cylinder was sticking on opening to reload. On closer inspection I noted that the ejector rod was starting to loosen up. I hand tightened it and keep shooting. This required a few more hand tightening as I continued to shoot. (going to give it a good tightening later today after cleaning)

The rear sight is near bottom of the range of adjustment and the windage is generally centered. I like that set up. It really bothers me to have a rear sight hanging off of center too far. Not an issue.

This Security Six seems to shoot a minute of Bunny all day long. Recoil was mild and the grips felt great. Trigger pull was very nice with 90% of my shooting today done on single action. The Double action is long and felt much as I expected it would. While long, it was consistent all the way through.