Security 9 spring

Help Support Ruger Forum:

larry8

Single-Sixer
I have a security 9 and find it hard to rack the slide, so I was wondering if I could replace the spring with one from the security 380, which I also have. The 380 is much easier than the 9 and they look about the same. So I think I could replace the entire spring and rod assembly. Is this possible?

dweis

Blackhawk
If it is the same size, you can substitute. However, that might be problematic. The tension of the two springs is different. 380 generally has a lighter tension than 9mm. I went from a Sec 9 Compact to a Sec 380 because I could no longer reliably rack the 9mm. Now I can rack the 380 with 2 fingers. So there is a substantial difference between the two pistols. If you put a 380 spring into the 9mm, my guess is you will have failure to load and eject. Of course, I am no expert so I am stating what I think not fact. I do have to say that I love the Security 380. It's my EDC loaded with Underwood Extreme Defender.

contender

Ruger Guru
Due to the differences in pressure between the .380 & the .9mm I would not try the swap. Yes,, they might fit. Yes, it might allow easier racking of the slide. BUT,, it will also cause harder impact forces upon the frame when fired. That could damage the gun.
Springs are built to a certain tension for a reason. To allow the gun to properly operate AND function correctly.
I would instead, learn different methods of slide racking,,,or even get one of the inexpensive tools that is a slide racker assist.

I've taught classes to MANY older ladies who found that slide racking is a problem. Yet,, some were able to learn a different method, and became capable of operating their semi-auto's.

larry8

Single-Sixer
Well, I've compared the two springs and rod (pin) assys and found the 9mm is about a half inch longer than the 380, so I can't swap them. I think I'll call Ruger and see if they will make one with a weaker spring for me.

larry8

Single-Sixer