Ruger PCC re-assembly issue

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Douglas S

Bearcat
I seem to have made a very fundamental mistake when re-assembling my PCC after field stripping and cleaning. The lower receiver is back together and everything is snug and seems to operate fine, but I cannot get the barrel assembly to re-attach to the receiver. Worse, the chamber and barrel seem misaligned somehow. I cannot get the barrel to rotate into place so that the locking pin will seat in the slot on the receiver.

Thanks for any advice. Yes, I'm a noob.
ruger reassembly issue.jpg

Last edited:
In the owners manual, it explains how to adjust the adjustable headspacing ring. Sounds like yours is a little tight. Loosen the adjustment, and start over, adjusting tighter by trial and error, until the barrel will just barely and finally, attach itself.

Douglas S

Bearcat
The adustment ring seems frozen. The barrel will seat completely, I just can't get it to rotate to proper alignment. It also seems to be engaging the bolt somehow.

Douglas S

Bearcat
Yes to all that. It feels like the issue is in the barrel block. The barrel won't turn to where it needs in the block so everything just "clicks" together. I've stripped the gun several times and this is the first time this has happened.

hittman

Staff member
Was your "field stripping" more than just separating the two pieces?

Well then, if you "know" everything is adjusted correctly and it still wont reassemble, your choices are contact the dealer, contact a gunsmith or contact Ruger.

Diagnosing over the internet is difficult. My bet is something still is not adjusted correctly or otherwise the manual is not being followed.

Last edited:

hittman

Staff member
Usually when these things happen to me it ends up being something simple …. Something I missed.

Set it on the workbench and look at it again about Tuesday. May snap right together.

Douglas S

Bearcat