Rifle cleaning?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

emfshields

Bearcat
So I bought a new Mini 14 (582) last week. Took her out Saturday and threw 100 rounds of steel Tul through it. I know steel ammo is "dirty" (I have a ton of brass, just wanted this stuff out of my safe) so I'm thinking I want to clean it. Just wondering if it is imperative to disassemble the entire rifle, or just run a bore snake through it? I have no problem with the idea of striping it, just didn't know if it's neccessary. I bought a .223 brush and barrel swab, but the brush jammed up too much going through the front of the barrel. Didn't want to force it in, so I just cleaned the reciever area.

I'm new to the rifle game, so don't flame me too hard for the newb question! And thanks for looking/replying...

Depends on the Ammo and specifically the primers.... but I would break it down and see what the bolt and other parts look like... then again, you should be able to see how dirty it got with just a look... I'd clean it real good myself after 100 rounds of el-cheapo ammo.

emfshields

Bearcat
Went ahead and striped it all the way down tonight and cleaned it good. It was pretty nasty in there...I do the same with the pistol, so I figured I might as well do this. Was a pretty simple process, only difference I noted is that it's a little harder to remove the magazine. Think it's just my mind messing with me, all paranoid I did something wrong.

Can't wait to shot it again, don't really want to let one off in the backyard. :lol:

DGW1949

Hunter
emfshields said: