Resizing primed brass with SB 5.56mm RCBS die

Help Support Ruger Forum:

akbluz

Blackhawk
Here is one for the "Brain Trust" reloading folks.

I have a Ruger AR556 stock rifle. I have been reloading for it for a couple of months. I reloaded some .223/5.56 brass and checked them with my case gauge and the rounds seemed to me like they should feed/fire OK (these were sized/reloaded with regular RCBS dies). When shooting I had several rounds that didn't chamber completely. However these rounds fired just fine when I tried them a 2nd time. (I also tried different magazines with the same results.)
I now have a set of Small Base RCBS dies to use but I have quite a few rounds that I have already sized with my regular dies & primed. I plan to resize this brass with the SB dies. I could remove the Decapping Rod, Pin Holder, and Decapping pin assembly to protect the primers while resizing. My concern is that the mouth of the brass will be "squeezed down" and won't be expanded out to size to accept a bullet when seating.
Should I leave the Decapping Rod Assembly out and not worry about being able to seat 55grain FMJ bullets - or - should I remove the Decapping pin from the bottom of the Expander/Rod assembly in the die so as to expand the mouth of the brass to accept a bullet without incurring problems with bullets seating.

I planned to contact RCBS today but I waited too late. I can call/email them on Monday to see what they say.

I'd be interested in your thoughts.

akbluz

Jimbo357mag

Hawkeye
I think the decapping pin is there to take irregularities out of the case mouth and not to expand it. Pull the de-capping pin out and try a couple and see.

Chuck 100 yd

Hunter
Don't forget to lube those cases. Small base full length sizing dies will jam tight
easily. Removing the primer pin will allow you to resize without removing the primer.

mikld

Blackhawk
Yep, like the guys above said, just remove the pin but leave the stem with the expanding ball...