Recommended improved rear sight for Ruger Blackhawk .357 with six inch barrel?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

1245delta

Bearcat
I have a Ruger .357 New Model Black Hawk with a six inch barrel and the factory rear sight. What might be recommended as an improved rear sight and why. What about the factory front sight. Can it be improved? I'm not a fan of fiber optic sights although I have them on my Ruger Single Six. Thanks for all advice. I'm kind of new to this aspect of shooting/.

Hamilton Bowen of Bowen Classic Arms makes what many of us consider the best rear sight for our Rugers. Go to his website and look in the parts section to see the sights. Front sights are tougher since they are probably silver soldered on the original barrel. Many gunsmiths can change it or install a DX style sight but thus means sending the gun off and possibly refinishing.

I use the Bowen New Model Field Target rear sight, but others prefer Bowen Rough Country rear. If you go with them, you "could" install yourself, but you'll want to make sure you have the full range of vertical travel. On a few of mine, the top of the hammer needs to be filed down for clearance, and sometimes the rear of the top strap needs filing. Otherwise, the Bowen rear blade sits up too high and you might need a taller front sight depending on what load and distance you shoot. Otherwise, Bowen makes the rear sight with the best "sight picture" for the Ruger. If your front sight is pinned in, I like the fiber optics, but as mentioned, you'd be better served to have a competent smith replace it. You might consider a Freedom Arms front as they have lots of options, but it might be too high.

jgt

Buckeye
Guess what? Fermin came out with a rear sight to fit the dovetail on those models of the single six. Gives a good sight picture.

woodperson

Single-Sixer