Question about Army veteran who stopped the nightclub attack

Help Support Ruger Forum:

vito

Hunter
The recent mass shooting at the Colorado nightclub was stopped when an Army veteran subdued and beat the shooter and held him for police. I do not disparage or diminish the heroism shown by this individual in any way, and undoubtedly his brave actions resulted in a far lower body count than if he had just fled the scene to protect himself and his family. What I find odd is the information in the media about this individual. It stated that he is a former Army Major who served for 15 years. As a retired Army officer myself it struck me as odd that a soldier at the rank of Major would leave active duty with that many years of service rather than stay for a few more and become entitled to a pension and life long benefits as a retired officer. Then I thought that possibly this Major was medically retired, which would account for his less than 20 years of service, but news reports state he is a veteran, not a retiree. If in fact he was medically retired then his heroism is even greater since it would mean he took his action despite some significant limitation. Just wondering.

I also will admit that this individual's statement that he took his entire family to this gay nightclub to attend a drag queen show struck me as odd. I can't imagine a much more inappropriate entertainment experience for my family than going to a drag queen show, which always is a display of hyper sexuality and frankly, deviant behavior (from what I understand about these events). Just another aspect to wonder about.

I'm guessing over the next week or so the media will dig up more than he knows about himself and make it public.
He's already made some appearances so seemingly good with the attention. People there were lucky he decided to fight and
as I posted before the shooter is still hospitalized so maybe he got at least some of the beating needed.