OM Single Six 22 Mag unmarked

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Yancy

Bearcat
I just acquired an OM Single Six 22 MAG, marked Ruger 22 cal Single Six, Serial 564 395. Trying to get information about it. Unusual in that it has a 22 MAG cylinder and .224 bore, but is NOT marked MAG. Any ideas on what I have? I would like to get a 22 LR cylinder - is that possible? Any idea of the year of manufacture? Can't find the cited serial number listed in the Ruger Serial Number Look Up table (newbie here - so may not know exactly where to look!). Many thanks!

Welcome to the Forum....good info above and yes , being that is the later ,llarger bore diameter you can fit ,add a 22 cal LR cylinder, check on line, after you get a few posts here on the forum, I believe you need 20 posts to get on and use the classified ads here to find another .22 lr cylinder for your gun,,,keep inmind you need to match the overall length of the cylinder that is now in your gun. end to end,,,should be somewhere around 1.620" plus...better to be longer so you can fit ,adapt it, than to be shorter and NOT headspace properly.............

this is BAD..........

STsdXCYm.jpg

Good luck and welcome aboard........:cool:;)

contender

Ruger Guru
Welcome to the Forum!

Good info above.

Basically,, a previous owner put the .22 Mag cylinder in a convertible gun,, and the .22 LR cylinder got separated from it.
After serial number 150000 approximately,, the bore diameter was increased & the .22 mags were added. So your gun is well into the range for that bore diameter.
As for the serial number look-up feature,, always ask here. We have a better reference guide, (as well as easier to find,) we used called the RENE (Red Eagle News Exchange) than even the factory site. Sadly,, SOME of the info on the factory site isn't exactly correct,, or easy to find.