Newb question about trigger

Help Support Ruger Forum:

johnbh

Bearcat
I'm new to shooting. I was at the range,and was talking to the person who
runs the range. He told me the only thing he would change was the trigger.
Go to a person who knows ruger and have a combat trigger done. Not competion trigger. He let me pull one back w/ this trigger . You pull back
u hit a plateau and u can hold,then u can finish the pull. Felt really good.
Some one else came in he had the same set up,and i tried his felt nice no build up. He was telling me Ruger was was doing this 50 yrs ago.
I have been dry firing the hell out of the gun. My problem w/ the stock i when pulling would get a build up of pressure affecting the shot. Should i have this combat trigger done. Don't mean to ramble on, need some input.
thanks I have gp 100 4',love the gun.

c.r.

Single-Sixer
John,
Welcome to the forum

It's very common for some folks to use a word/phrase to describe one thing, and another person to use a completely different word/phrase to describe the exact same thing.

I'm not familiar with a "combat trigger" or a "competition trigger". I would think they are both references to having a nice trigger/action job done on a revolver........With the exception of the "combat trigger" having a heavier trigger pull. just for example meaning the "combat trigger" needs 4lbs of trigger pull, where the "competition trigger" would require 2 1/2 pounds. Basically meaning you don't want a "hair trigger" in a stressful situation.

Since there are at least 2 folks at the range with these "combat triggers", maybe you could ask them if you could shoot their guns, see if you like the triggert, find out who did the trigger jobs and get them to do the same thing to yours.

I also think you will hear a few folks refer to the "build up of pressure" as "stack". Just another example of you say tuhmaytoe, i say tuhmawtoe.