New Ruger SR-556cla - Questions

Help Support Ruger Forum:

SirJOW

Bearcat
Okay, I just posted my intro and am new to this forum. The SR-556cla that I purchased about a month ago is my first rifle and have several questions/concerns that I could use some help with.

1st of all I am a beginner, so a lot of the problem may be me. I have been to he rifle range on 3 occasions now and have run through a total of 300 rounds. I cleaned the rifle after the 1st 100 rounds and after the last outing where I went through 120 (total of 200 between cleanings.)

I am burning through 1,000 rounds of PMC X-TAC 5.56 NATO LAP 62gr. (green tips)

Anyway, the range I am going to only allows me to shoot from the bench position and early on I realized I needed a way to take a consistent shot. The range has 25, 50, and 100 yard targets. I have accessorized my gun as follows:

1. FAB Defense - T-POD G2 which combines a foregrip with a bipod (This I believe would give me a way to take a consistent shot)
2. NcSTAR Mark III Mil-Dot Scope with 3-9 magnification (As a beginner I am not yet ready to drop coin on better optics.)

Anyway, to my questions/concerns:

1. I zeroed my Samson Iron Sights (which are OEM for the rifle today) at 25 yards. I noticed that my rear sight is nearly all the way to the right and this does not seem right. I recently realized I should be zeroing at 50 yards but have not gotten around to doing that. My concern is that it doesn't make sense to me that the rear sight would need to be adjusted all the way to the right even at 25 yards?!
2. Along the same lines, I zeroed my scope at 100 yards and again it virtually needs to be to the near extreme right position to zero
3. My grouping is wild at 25-100 yards. Obviously less so at shorter distances than longer ones. Everything is on paper, but it just seems like things should be a lot closer and more accurate.