My New Lee Classic 4 Hole Turret Press report...

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Rook

Blackhawk
I've been using my old model Lee 4 hole turret press for the past 20 years or so and I decided to retire it and get the newer classic 4 hole turret press this week. I wished I hadn't put off buying the newer model so long because it is an improvement.

One good thing about it is it's easier on the old arm to resize larger casings with it than it is on the shorter stroke of the old turret press.

Another good feature is the way the spent primers fall through the ram and into a plastic tube attached at the bottom of the ram instead of being scattered all over the floor or down into the press like the old press would do.

The base of the newer classic model is made of cast iron instead of aluminum like the old one is made of.

I only bought the press and the newer model pro auto disk powder measure since I already have all the other stuff they sell in the kit.

The pro auto disk powder measure is also more accurate than the old model auto disk measure. I loaded 150 rounds last night and checked the weight on the first 50 on my electronic scales which measure grains in the hundredths before I was comfortable enough to trust it. It was never off more than .06 of a grain and when you're talking about .06 of a grain of powder that's only a very few flakes or spheres.

One thing I found in the past to make primer feeding easier on both the old and new model is to put a small washer underneath the bracket that holds the safety primer arm in place. It increases the height of the feeder just enough to avoid hanging onto the primer arm when the ram is all the way up.

I bought the press on line from Walmart for $100.44 with free shipping. Amazon had the same price with shipping included with Prime but Amazon was out of the presses so I ordered it from Walmart.
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Lee-Precision-Classic-Turret-Press/24032139

DSCN2844_3.jpg

DSCN2841_2.jpg

Rook

Blackhawk