My New Flat Top 44 Mag Three Screw Blackhawk

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Driftwood Johnson

Blackhawk
Howdy

Well, the title just about says it all. Although I bought my first Ruger way back in 1975 I am pretty new to Three Screws. I have a 3 screw Single Six that I have had for a number of years, and I recently picked up another one, but other than that I don't have a lot of experience with Three Screws.

I attended a big, fancy auction on Saturday. There were lots of really high end guns, including an original 1860 Henry rifle that went for $19,000, but my sights were set a bit lower. I went to the inspection and there were quite a few Three Screws up for auction. A couple of Single Sixes, a 45 Convertible, a 41 Mag, and SIX Three Screw 44 Mags. Yes, Six.

I could only afford one, so I handled all six of them to see which one I would go for. Three of them were early Super Blackhawks. The other three were Flat Tops. The three Flat Tops had 10", 7 1/2", and 6 1/2" barrels. It was really an amazing selection, but I had to go for just one. It was also a great opportunity to compare the different guns. I was running back and forth from one table to the other, comparing grips, hammers, and frames. The one I liked best was the 6 1/2" barrel. It was also the oldest, made in 1958. I really liked the smaller grip frame as opposed to the bigger Supers. I also did not like the hammers on a couple of the Supers. I picked it up and brought it over to the table where all the others were and handled everything, making sure that it was the one I wanted. It was a little bit more beat up, it had a few nicks and dings in the finish, and the sides of the hammer were stained. But I decided it was the one I wanted. Unfortunately, it was also farther back in the catalog, so if I decided not to bid on any of the others and I missed this one, I would go home empty handed.