My latest build, Kentucky Flintlock

Help Support Ruger Forum:

street

Hunter
Back in the early 70s the state of Virginia opened up a special muzzle loading season for deer. That being the case. I built a .45 cal. Flintlock. See the first picture, it's the top gun. As I have never built a muzzle loader before I was happy with the results. Bare in mind it could have been better but over all it was a pretty good build. Shortly after I bought a stock blank, lock trigger, trigger guard and barrel and a few other parts. I was ready to start another one. Jump ahead 45 or so years I finally got around to building another one :roll: . With the internet I could download a lot of pictures and I got a really good idea of how to build my second gun.

My first gun didn't have any carving except around the lock. It also didn't have any engraving. Thanks to the internet I could see that a lot of the old Flintlocks had very simple carving and simple engraving. Seeing that, that was right down my alley :wink: . I have never done any carving or engraving so keep that in mind when you look at my pictures. Over all I'm happy with the way it turned out, just wish I could have done a little better with the carving and the engraving but for the first time trying both. I'm OK with it.

414457412.jpg

414456256.jpg

414456255.jpg

414456257.jpg

414456258.jpg

414456259.jpg

414456260.jpg

414456261.jpg

414456262.jpg

414456263.jpg

414456264.jpg

414456266.jpg

414456265.jpg

Beruisis

Single-Sixer
I've seen & handled a lot of muzzle loaders & you can be proud of that one!
Nice work. Keep it up!
Beruisis

T.A. WORKMAN

Hunter
Street,
That is a great looking Flintlock Rifle, you can be proud of your workmanship on it.
As the old Mountain Men would have said,,"She Truly Shines"

Thanks for sharing.
Terry

Ethang

Blackhawk
It looks just fine, especially for a 1st/2nd attempt. The bigger question is... how does it shoot?

BDM1

Single-Sixer