Favorite .22LR ammo?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

.22shooter

Bearcat
Hello crowd!
I just bought my first gun last week (Mark III - Hunter).
I'm new to the board and this is my first post (after the introduction).
I'm new to guns and I have many questions... I hope I can find some answers. :)

I bought a box of 500 Remington Cyclone .22LR ammo and I took it to the range. I've been to the range twice, and I already hate this ammo. I don't think I'm going to use the remaining 50 I have.

I'll keep them as ammo for when I run out of ammo.

This ammo is dirty and it jams constantly (at least once every 30 shots). By dirty I mean my hands are BLACK after loading two clips (you can imagine after 200 rounds!) and the gun is really, really dirty when I clean it afterward. Although I expected this in the gun, not my hand.

I've been reading the forum looking for information on what ammo people use, and I see that there are many different opinions.

I would like to ask three things:
What is your favorite .22LR ammo and why?

What's a .22LR Mini-Mag and how is it different from .22LR ammo?

Does the Ultimate Cliploader really work with a Mark III clip?

Thanks in advance!

-Pablo

Snake45

Hawkeye
My favorite .22 ammo is Winchester Dynapoints, as they shoot reliably and accurately in almost every gun I've tried them in (somewhere around three dozen rifles and handguns). Unfortunately, they've become much harder to find since I tested them in 2004, and when I do find them, they're expensive now.

The Federal Bulk stuff carried by Walmart is pretty reliable and VERY clean, and is also the cheapest .22 you can buy now (at about 3c per shot). Not the most accurate ammo but unless you're pretty good, you prolly won't be able to tell the difference in a handgun.