Contactless Credit Card

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Pat-inCO

Hawkeye
I guess I'm just paranoid, but I can see a virtual plethora of reasons for NOT going
with a contactless credit card. First one that comes to mind is that you will NEED a
wallet with built in RF screening so some dolt can't just walk up behind you and put
a charge on your card. Second is if you have more than one, which one did you
mean to charge? Did more than one get charged?

What put me on to this is the wallet I've been using for several years is just about to
give up, so I went looking and found one that has all the features I like, and I noticed
it also has the RF screen built in. I just figured "oh well" and got it anyway. Then in
the E-mail this morning came an offer from one of my credit cards for "Contactless".
I deleted that straight away.

Flip side of that discussion is that I normally use a card about three times per week.
Humm, is that a frequency that would make this more convenient? I think not.

Anyone else have an opinion?

coach

Hunter
I do like the Apple pay on my phone. As I understand it the data is encrypted so a skimmer at a gas station can’t steal it. I prefer to use it buying gas but most stations around me don’t have it yet. I don’t know how the contactless cards work. I have to think some kind of encryption is involved.

You're talking about the “tap to pay” feature on some credit cards right? Is that the “contactless” part you mean? My credit card doesn’t have that, or I haven’t activated it at least. My wife uses Apple Pay a lot. Except at Wal Mart, because they don’t accept Apple Pay.

Your talking about someone coming up behind you and charging something on your card in your wallet, in your back pocket? How close does it have to be to work? I would think pretty close.

Apple Pay is pretty secure by the way.

I've told this story before, and nearly everyone has told me it can't be...

I was standing in line at the front desk of my doctors office.