Best, and cleanest, target ammo?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

flyers76

Bearcat
I'm still new to shooting and have now put about 600 rounds thru my SR9 (with no problems at all after a stovepipe or 2 on the first mag).
I'm interested in opinions on best and cleanest (in terms of least residue) ammo to use for frequent (1/week) visits to indoor range. I've been using mainly Blazer CCI 115-g, the non-reloadable rounds with aircraft aluminum casings, since they're so cheap. But I've seen other branfs advertised as "clean" and specifically designed for indoor use -- afre they really any better?
Also -- I field strip and clean gun after every firing, but haven't disassembled beyond basic field stripping -- how long can I go before I have to take apart trigger assembly, firing pin, etc. to clean? :?:

Cheesewhiz

Hunter
"Clean Range" or any other moniker has nothing to do with the fouling it can cause to your pistol. That ammo is listed as lead and mercury free, it's an environmental issue. It is supposed to keep the toxin levels down, it doesn't really fire any cleaner as far as deposits than standard ammo.

BuckJM53

Single-Sixer
As Cheezewhiz said, although ammo like Federal BallistiClean & WinClean are lead free bullets with a non-toxic primer (and are enviromentally freindly at about triple the price :shock:), they (along with any other cartridge you shoot) will still leave some degree of powder residue in your gun. Since I clean my guns after each trip to the range anyway, I personally don't mind shooting less expensive rounds such as WWB, Blazer Brass, Federal, factory reloads, etc., even if the general consensus is that they may be a bit dirtier then some of the more expensive ammo on the market (JMHO).

GhosT

Blackhawk
flyers76,
Agree with the last two posters.

Clean yer gun after every shooting session,......yer gun should function fine.
Just avoid any rounds (imports) that say corrosive.

aaronrb204

Bearcat