223 predator

Help Support Ruger Forum:

red Ranger

Bearcat
For Christmas I picked up some RMR 75 grain for 223. The powders I have on hand are Tac, cfe223, benchmark Varget,or Vihtavuori n530 where is a good place to start thanks

contender

Ruger Guru
Whenever I start a new project,, I START by pulling out all the loading manuals I have & research them to see what they offer as far as it references my available components. A good, safe handloader will have the most current manuals from several sources.
Using such data that has already been tested for safety is the way to begin. Plus,, in many manuals,, they tell which powders give the best results according to what THEY used. Often, you can see a pattern of a powder selection that seems to point to the better choices to start with when cross referencing manuals.

Short answer; "Use several manuals!"

contender

Ruger Guru
No problem.
I've been learning to handload for almost 40 years,, and I've found that by getting, & using as many printed manuals as a guide to start has never caused me to damage a gun, hurt myself or anyone else. Plus,, they've often guided me easily towards the best loads I was able to assemble.
One thing often overlooked by the younger crowd that rely upon the internet, is liability. When a company publishes a book, there are implied liability issues. The data they publish has been tested,, so they have their companies covered. An internet recipe is not protected by such things.
In my little reloading corner,, I have about a dozen manuals,, all of which are the most current from each company. I also have a library of older manuals. In fact, sitting at this computer & desk, I can see 8 manuals I've shifted out of use,, and only use them for back-up reference data when my feeble mind wants to get an answer to something. (But never actual data to load into a case.)