Holster so comfortable you forget you're carrying?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Dan in MI

Staff member
I've been carrying for a few years. About 90% outside the home and 60% at home.

Until recently I have always had an awareness of my weapon. I got a new holster and it is so comfortable that I don't feel it, or have it bouncing around the background of my head. I have actually dropped it to the floor when undoing my pants when getting ready for bed (twice :shock: ) instead of knowing/feeling I had to remove it. I did catch myself doing it a third time.

I switched back to my old holster as a test and it has those little pokes and prods that keep me aware.

Is a holster this comfortable a rarity?

Dan in MI

Staff member
Azula seated cross draw. Kimber Micro 9.

It rides about 11:00 for me. I can still use both jeans pockets, which is nearly a must. (phone/cash)

I have the same in a Hellcat, but that fat pig still shows up. :lol: Actually I think this one is plain cross draw, not the seated version.

TGW1979

Bearcat
I have a few handguns but one in particular is a 9 mm compact.. when I carry that one I wear OWB and I usually have a dress shirt like a button up or something on so it's covered. I do often forget that I have it on and if I don't notice it when I take my shirt off it's so damn light I will forget that it's there. I walked into a bank a few weeks ago and had it on my hip... Fortunately it's not illegal to walk into a bank with a firearm on your person unless it's a federal bank... But I'll tell you right now I couldn't understand why people were just staring at me. It took me a moment and then I looked down and said rather loudly, "OH HELL!! AGAIN?!?!"

I think my demeanor and genuine surprise and shock comforted everybody because the atmosphere immediately relaxed. Nobody even told me I couldn't have it in there. I was expecting somebody to try to tell me how the law works.

Biggfoot44

Blackhawk