Go to Powder for 38 Special +P and 357 Magnum

Help Support Ruger Forum:

A-Ro

Bearcat
I'm new to reloading and want to start in the right place.

Is there a go to powder that can be used for both 38 Special +P loads and 357 Magnum loads?

COR

Blackhawk
2400 is a good one. Doesn't get much better for the two you mentioned if you have to have only one powder.

Jimbo357mag

Hawkeye
I would recommend Universal or HP-38/W-231 for use in both cartridges. Either one of those would give you good all-round performance with 158gr bullets. ...But for magnum velocity in the 357mag you would need a slower powder like Accurate #9 or H-110/W-296. :shock: :shock:

...Jimbo

RugerSP101

Single-Sixer
A-Ro said:
I'm new to reloading and want to start in the right place.

Is there a go to powder that can be used for both 38 Special +P loads and 357 Magnum loads?
I use Unique...its all Ive used so far for my 38/357 loads, and I love it.

I use 4.6 grains Unique with 158gr LRN bullets I load for range rounds and 7.5 grains Unique for self defense rounds with store bought jacketed bullets which ends up being a strong 38+p (so the wife can handle the recoil).

Been doing very well so far. :)

8emem

Bearcat
Unique is ideally suited for the usage described. It burns fast enough to work well across the full range of .38 special pressures (including +P), yet burns slow enough for loads well into the higher (but not maximum) pressure range for .357 magnum.

Bucks Owin

Hunter
My .357 gets fed W296 for full tilt 140 gr and up weights, and most any "shotgun" powder eg PB, Green Dot, 700X, 4756 etc has given me good service with 148 WCs and light bullets whether in .38 Spl or .357 cases. I especially like GD since I have a lot of it and it gives nice even velocities for slower loads in my .45LC as well.