Flatgate problem

Help Support Ruger Forum:

hittman

Staff member
I'm not at all mechanically inclined but my old flatgate in the 112xx s/n range has a little issue. Maybe someone can lend a little advice please.

With the hammer relaxed I can rotate the cylinder counter clockwise about half way to the next chamber.

With the hammer cocked, held back and the trigger pulled, the cylinder is very tight just like it should be.

The gun shoots just fine so I've never addressed this issue.

Any thoughts or comments?

I'm not versed on this issue but if the cylinder is rotated manually as you describe does the hand catch and index it to the firing position when the hammer is cocked?

Johnnu2

Hunter
Hittman.... I'm no expert, but I would suggest two things:

1) most probably the cylinder lock (cyl bolt) is not coming up far enough to hold the cylinder 'locked'; my thinking is that a good cleaning of the entire 'innards' might fix the problem (I had an old SingleSix that I hadn't fired in MANY years that was totally locked-up and frozen..a good cleaning and it was back in business.... note, I keep my guns in temp/humidity environment and super clean all the time...it musta just been the oil turned to cement in this case).

2) If the cleaning doesn't do it then, somehow, the cyl lock timing got screwed-up and is not actuating the bolt the way it should. I was just working on my Colt SAA with a timing problem and the instructions that I were reading said that, once I got it to pop up at the right time, the next 'check point' is to be sure that it actually locks the cyl and does NOT allow it to counter rotate (there is a fix for that in a Colt, but I forgot what the Ruger fix is.... if Hondo44 is around, he'd know fer sure).

J