For anyone experiencing the LCP Max shooting low or way off - read this before sending it back to Ruger.

Help Support Ruger Forum:

None of the 'mouse guns' are target pistols. It was suggested to me to practice getting 5 shots into a 5 inch circle at five yards as rapidly as possible, which is equivalent to 'COM".
Most subcompact, compact, revolver's are not target guns either. I would say on the pocket gun start at three yards. Learn and practice drills, move up to 5, then 7 then 10 yds and up etc. It is up to the shooter how far he wants to go how much he wants to put into it. When I started shooting them, my idea was, Hey, if I am going to carry one, might as well become proficient. Just like most things in life. Get into some competition with some friends. Challenge yourself. Get competitive with yourself. I find them addicting. That said, they are not for every one. And I would never start a young shooter or inexperienced shooter with one. And anyone that does not train diligently is just wasting their time.

unodemo

Bearcat
Picked up the Max and a 10 round mag after ignoring it for several months. Warmed up with a few dry fire reps to recall the fundamentals, and then I got to work.

3 yds 5 shots of 100gr FMJ using a Dead on Hold. The Max will do its part when you do your part.

IMG_1408.JPG TargetHolds.jpg

poconocho

Bearcat
Picked up the Max and a 10 round mag after ignoring it for several months. Warmed up with a few dry fire reps to recall the fundamentals, and then I got to work.

3 yds 5 shots of 100gr FMJ using a Dead on Hold. The Max will do its part when you do your part.

View attachment 34314View attachment 34313
Very true in my experience.

Another piece of data for those having issues:

I put in the galloway precision trigger which is just a piece of plastic that changes the angle of the trigger pull, lowering the amount of travel, which resulted in even better shooting for me.