RugerForum.com

This is a Ruger Firearms enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent Sturm Ruger & Company Inc. of Southport, CT.
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:28 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 45 ACP Reloading Issues
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:04 pm 
Bearcat

I am new to reloading and I started with loading 45 ACP for my P345, but I am experiencing a couple issues when I try to fire my reloaded rounds. Issue 1: Sometimes the brass doesn’t seem to be ejecting correctly after firing. It is getting caught in the slide and preventing the next round from chambering. Issue 2: If I can get a round to fire and the brass ejected, the next round doesn’t always seem to chamber. It looks like the round isn’t getting pushed far enough forward so the slide isn’t closed all the way.

I used the Lee Modern Reloading Second Edition manual specs in combination with comparing to a factory round for OAL. The rounds I loaded are using 230 grain PowerBond copper plated bullets, 4.5 grains of Winchester 231 powder, and have an average overall length of 1.263 inches.

After reading a bit online and looking at the Hogdon’s site, I have some ideas about what is causing each issue, but I wanted to get additional opinions. I am thinking that I am not using a powerful enough powder charge and that is causing the issue with the brass not ejecting (Issue 1). According to Hogdon’s site, the OAL for these rounds should be 1.200 inches. I am thinking that my rounds might be a bit too long and that could be causing the chambering issue (Issue 2).

Is my thinking correct? If so, how should I go about correcting the issue on the 40-ish rounds I have? Should I just pull the bullets, increase the powder charge, and reseat the bullets a little deeper? I appreciate any help that you can offer.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:39 pm 
Bearcat