Loading for the 77/44 (.429, .430 or .431?)

Help Support Ruger Forum:

PJR

Bearcat
I want to start loading heavier bullets for my 77/44. While I've loaded centrefire rifle I have little experience with handgun rounds and none with the .44 magnum.

In looking at the catalogues I've noted there are three ".44" bullet diameters -- .429, .430, .431. Why the difference and which of these would be best for a 300 grain load in my 77/44?

captainkirk

Blackhawk
If you are loading jacketed bullets it won't really matter. If you want to use cast bullets it may help to "slug" your bore to determine what the dia of your particular rifle is. Generally, I think Rugers tend towards the large end of the spectrum you gave. I actually shoot my cast bullets unsized in my ruger 44 handguns and they are fine. As cast diameters are around .431 or so for my favorite RCBS SWC mold.

I think you will enjoy loading for the 44 (carbide dies are great!) compared to most bottleneck centerfire rifle cartridges. Especially if you load them 100 at a time or so...

captainkirk

four70nitro

Single-Sixer
It really depends which diameter shoots the best in your gun. You will have to experiment a bit.

Most (all?) jacketed bullets will be .429 diameter. The majority of the cast bullets out there will be sized to .430 and some will be sized to .431.

My pistols (Redhawks and Blackhawks) seem to prefer cast bullets in the .430 diameter and I have had really consistent results with the Lazercast 300 grain bullets. They simply shoot very well in my Redhawks.

As mentioned by captainkirk some firearms will prefer the .431 diameter bullets.