RugerForum.com

This is a Ruger Firearms enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent Sturm Ruger & Company Inc. of Southport, CT.
It is currently Thu Dec 12, 2019 7:46 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:20 am 
Buckeye
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 1:01 am
Posts: 1644
Location: Phenix City, Alabama
And now I can't log on to this site. One try and it says I used up all of my allotted time and the CAPTCHA is shut down.


Help, anyone?

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:25 am 
Hawkeye
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:34 pm
Posts: 8370
Location: Georgia
CAPTCHA has been disabled. I don't know of a way around it.

_________________
I learned a long time ago that I can't change the world, but I can change one life at a time.
"Life happens now, and it can be lost in yesterday, or misspent waiting for tomorrow."
Let's just sit here awhile and see what happens...
NRA Benefactor
www.GeorgiaCarry.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:30 am 
Hawkeye

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 4:40 pm
Posts: 7226
Location: Dallas, TX
How did you post this if you couldn’t log in? Not trying to be a smart alek just trying to figure out what’s happening?

Also, what type of tablet? Or more specific, which app are you using to access the internet? As in Chrome, or Safari (Apple products use this)

What you might try first is to go into the settings of the tablet (the little gear symbol) and find the app you are using for the internet and clear the cache of that app.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:15 am 
Buckeye
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 1:01 am
Posts: 1644
Location: Phenix City, Alabama
This is on my Chromebook. Yesterday I got a Fire HD 8 for my wife and a Fire HD 10 for myself.
I'll look again and see.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:13 pm 
Bearcat

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 5:43 pm
Posts: 87
Location: Spencer, TN
Tom W wrote:
And now I can't log on to this site. One try and it says I used up all of my allotted time and the CAPTCHA is shut down.


Help, anyone?



That reminded me of Charlie Weaver's book, Letters From Mama, stating "I would have sent the 50 dollars I owe you, but I see I have already sealed the envelope." :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:57 pm 
Hawkeye

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 4:40 pm
Posts: 7226
Location: Dallas, TX
Try going to settings, the little gear icon. Then click on “apps and games” then “Amazon application settings” then “Silk browser settings” then “Privacy” and “clear browser data” for time range select “all time” and clear all the data

Does it act the same on both new Fire tablets? I’ve got one and besides being a little slow it works ok.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 6:56 pm 
Ruger Guru

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 1:01 am
Posts: 12118
Location: Near North Woods,MINN, USA
Kevin, Thank you for responses and follow up 8) Splitz

_________________
SPLITZ
NRA BENEFACTOR
Arizona Arms Assn Life Member & Past President,1981/'86
Ruger Owners and Collectors Society
RCA Field Rep Emeritus
Minn Weapons Collectors
Colt Collectors' Assn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:31 pm 
Buckeye
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 1:01 am
Posts: 1644
Location: Phenix City, Alabama
That was a No- Go also the tablet , even if it's been off a while, when I go to the log in page there is already red notification that I have exceeded my tries, even though the last try was several hours ago.

If one of the administrators would send me my password by P.M. I sure would appreciate it. I can't remember how I got logged on to the site on my Chromebook or my little tablet. I gotta start writing these things down rather than relying on the computers to save it for me. It doesn't do a damn bit of good when I get a new toy, in this case my tablet, if I can't get on. I've only been a member since 2003.....

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:23 pm 
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 8865
Location: Illinois
We don't know your password.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:58 pm 
Buckeye
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 1:01 am
Posts: 1644
Location: Phenix City, Alabama
Evidently neither does my tablet.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:33 pm 
Hawkeye
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:48 pm
Posts: 13083
Location: Webster, MD.
How about you register using the same name but add a number after the 'W'. Then use a new password and write it down somewhere.

_________________
Frank
67Z5MA2 Retired
IYACYAS
NRA
Ruger Owners & Collectors Society
Maryland Shall Issue

No matter what life throws at you, NEVER ring the bell.
"Do or do not; there is no try." (Yoda)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:24 pm 
Buckeye
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 1:01 am
Posts: 1644
Location: Phenix City, Alabama
Sounds like a plan. The only thing that I see is the site takes the tablet to a log in area that's already saying that I used up all of my attempts. I have the proper password that I've used for 15 years, as well as the proper log in name, or else I wouldn't be here. It doesn't give me a provision to change my info and start over. Curious at best. All of the other sites let me log on without problems....

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:12 pm 
Hawkeye

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 4:40 pm
Posts: 7226
Location: Dallas, TX
This is all very curious and interesting to me. We like tablets at our house and literally have several of each. Fire tablets, I-pads and Android tablets.

I just cleared the cache on my fire tablet and tried to replicate your problem. Are you by chance viewing the Ruger forum in the "reading mode." When I navigate to www. rugerforum.com on the fire tablet, down at the bottom it gives me this choice. Don't do that!

How do you get to the forum? With the "www...." In the url bar at the top of the screen? Or do you do a Google search for it?

oh hey! How about this. Download the Google chrome app from the Amazon app store. It should be free. Try using that to get to the forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I got a new tablet
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:22 pm 
Hawkeye

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 4:40 pm
Posts: 7226
Location: Dallas, TX
I just downloaded the Google Search App. It's a blue square. I'm not sure why there isn't a Google Chrome for the Fire tablet. However, it works. I was able to sign in and no problem. If you don't like Google you could also try the Mozilla or Microsoft Edge app.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group