What custom work might be needed for the SR1911

Help Support Ruger Forum:

ronnielc

Bearcat
What improvements to the Sr1911 would take it to the next level? I am new to 1911s but not to the customization of 22/45s and 10/22s. I am guessing,

Night sight
Polished ramp
What is the deal with a better bushing?
?
?
?

thanks

revhigh

Hawkeye
Unless you want to spend a ton of money on it ... I'd get a good trigger job and call it a day. The bushing should be about as good as it gets ... since it's 'made out of the same piece of barstock and is never seperated from it's barrel-mate'. Night sights and a ramp polishing won't do anything for it's shootability unless you have problems now. If you want to polish the ramp, get some Flitz and go at it ! :D

Not really sure what your 'next level' refers to.

REV

Ruger Packer

Buckeye
ronnielc said:
What improvements to the Sr1911 would take it to the next level? I am new to 1911s but not to the customization of 22/45s and 10/22s. I am guessing,

Night sight
Polished ramp
What is the deal with a better bushing?
?
?
?

thanks

What ramp??? The barrel has a sort of radiused (for lack of a better word) cut at the chamber end, but otherwise the round pretty much feeds directly from mag to chamber without any need of a ramp.

Rev suggested a good trigger job. I can go along with that, although mine is good enough for me. It breaks clean with no take up. Break it in good before you decide on a trigger job.

I don't need nite sites, but if one feels they do I understand.

The only customization I have done to mine is a set of semi-custom grip panels.

Thinking of having forward sererations cut into the slide... not because I particularly like 'em, but because I have a weak hand due to some nerve damage and the serrations would help me get a better grip on the slide.

I'd put my spare money towards extra mags and ammo.

ronnielc

Bearcat