What makes a Ed Brown, Les Baer, Dan Wesson worth so much?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

blackbrd1369

Bearcat
Im new to 1911's and I was just wondering what makes these worth so much? I love my SR1911 and I paid 700 for it. These guys guns are $2000 and up. Im just trying to wrap my head around what makes these guns so much better that they are worth that much. Now Im not saying they are not worth the money, I'm just trying to find out what they have that my SR1911 doesn't.

Fender Bender

Bearcat
hand fitting, and things like that. But 2 things, 1 Ed brown and Les Baer are a step above Dan Wesson guns price wise, you'd get some arguments on the quality aspect.

The 2nd thing is does anyone notice just how much the SR1911 looks like the Ed Brown executive elite?

9x19

Hunter
The only similarity is the overall design. Attention to detail, quality of the components, and the care taken in fitting them makes a big difference in price.

Ruger SR-1911
RSR1911l.jpg

Dan Wesson PM9
DWPM92.jpg

.45 ACP
Ed Brown Kobra
EBKSS.jpg

Nakanokalronin

Single-Sixer
I really like my SR1911 but the reason my Dan Wesson Valor costs more is no MIM or cast parts/frame/slide, hand fitment and a vice like fitment. Add the mirror polished feed ramp, nightsights, VZ grips all while retaining 100% reliability and its pretty plain to see.

I do believe that once you get past the quality of a 1911 like the Dan Wesson, your paying for finishes, scroll work or borders, crowning, blending, melting and other cosmetic details.

Ruger Packer

Buckeye
Nakanokalronin said:
I really like my SR1911 but the reason my Dan Wesson Valor costs more is no MIM or cast parts/frame/slide, hand fitment and a vice like fitment. Add the mirror polished feed ramp, nightsights, VZ grips all while retaining 100% reliability and its pretty plain to see.