RugerForum.com

This is a Ruger Firearms enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent Sturm Ruger & Company Inc. of Southport, CT.
It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:31 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 4:58 pm 
Offline
Bearcat
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 1:01 am
Posts: 87
Location: Prescott, AZ USA
It's a new twist on an old scam. I only have this check/money order I'll give you extra money if you cash it...that's called the HOOK. Don't be a greedy fish. Nobody pays you extra for goods or services just cause they are swell guys.

_________________
Simplyrugged.com

Get Trained Go Armed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 2:31 pm 
Offline
Buckeye
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 2:01 am
Posts: 1766
Location: WV -- formerly Nome, Alaska
This is precisely why I wont do business with anyone who does not have a long stand rep as a member of the forum.

_________________
Sometimes you have to take a step or sit down. I'm just not ready to sit down yet. -- Greebe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:21 am 
Offline
Single-Sixer

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 378
Location: Kenai, Alaska
toysoldier wrote:
Ruger1nut wrote:
I guess these days not all bad guys hide behind a mask
Dave


Some of them hide behind a congressional desk. :wink:

Todays thieves no longer wear a trench coat and carry a gun, they wear a suit and tie and are armed with a brief case and Lawyer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 6:10 pm 
Offline
Single-Sixer

Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 11:49 am
Posts: 444
Location: ft worth, tx
I bought a rifle on Gunbroker a couple of years ago, just as I was going o the Hospital for a partial two day stint. I called the seller and ask if a personal check was OK. He said that method was the safest for him , if I did not mind a five day delay. Told him that I wouldn't be shooting long guns for a few to several days anyway. We both were happy and the rifle was even better than described. Seems that many sellers want USPS moneyorders these days. jack


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:19 pm 
Offline
Bearcat

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:28 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Hunlock Creek,PA 18621
Major T wrote:
I bought a rifle on Gunbroker a couple of years ago, just as I was going o the Hospital for a partial two day stint. I called the seller and ask if a personal check was OK. He said that method was the safest for him , if I did not mind a five day delay. Told him that I wouldn't be shooting long guns for a few to several days anyway. We both were happy and the rifle was even better than described. Seems that many sellers want USPS moneyorders these days. jack


The reason for that is...by using a USPSMO , you now bring the feds in on it. If it was cashed and you did NOT recieve the goods....you have a much better chance of recieving your said goods,or recapturing your $. The ONLY way I do gun sales/buys is by USPSMO.....period.

_________________
NAHC Trophy Life Member
USAR 1982-88 4 Deuce Mortar Gunner
Thank a VET everytime you see one


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 5:05 am 
Offline
Rugers & Nittany Lions
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 1:01 am
Posts: 3550
Location: Morgantown, WV
Sellers want money orders because they are, for the most part, guaranteed money. No risk of a rubber check...I realize that you can hold the check until it clears before you ship, but you still get hit with a returned check fee from your bank and it is a pain in the ass.

It is much easier to use a PMO as you are almost guaranteed of no hassles!!

BB45C

_________________
www.mandhclassics.com

Ezekiel 22:30


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 8:50 am 
Offline
Single-Sixer

Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:01 am
Posts: 101
Location: Midlands ,SC
This is the info on a scammer that got me..He answered a WTB on another forum..... This is a copy of the feedback I left:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is the first bad deal in more than 10 years of buying and selling on the internet.. I advertised both in the members forum and here in the classifieds... WTB a vintage box etc. etc. Mr. Logan contacted me and advised he had one....Long story short...I sent a Western Union $$ transfer, got a bunch of excuses and "NO BOX" A member in the UK found he lives in gov't housing and his phone is most likely " portable" ..
Folks... Stay away from this guy... He has been removed from our midst..

His screen name was...... charleslr ..... e-mail is: charles.logan63@gmail.com

His address & phone are:

Charles Logan
Ravenscar Crescent
Manchester
Greater Manchester
M22 0HP
Phone # +44 7024096635
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
be careful out there,
JIM....................


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:29 pm 
Offline
Blackhawk
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 1:01 am
Posts: 911
Location: Brandon Florida USA
oneshot244rem wrote:
The reason for that is...by using a USPSMO , you now bring the feds in on it. If it was cashed and you did NOT recieve the goods....you have a much better chance of recieving your said goods,or recapturing your $. The ONLY way I do gun sales/buys is by USPSMO.....period.


Usually I require USPS MO as I can cash it and ship item all in one gas/money/time saving trip to my local PO<(within walking distance). If it is an gun or ammo I drive right past my local PO on the way to either FedEx UPS my local FFL holder.

However this site is unique and has a positive vibe/karma all of it's own. I pretty much would ship out whatever to 99% of the members here, once they post or PM they want it. Additionally I may be in the minority, but when I sell something of serious value I figure in insurance "delivery confirmation" and or "signature required" cost in my selling price.

_________________
Married to my hero and best friend and the proud father of two wonderful adult children.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please be careful!!
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 7:05 am 
Offline
Single-Sixer

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 1:09 pm
Posts: 416
Location: Northern Ohio
I received several replies to a WTB post on Armslist (local sales only) for a Ruger standard auto. They came from an alledged member of the Military indicating that he or she had an FFL and would accept only Western Union moneygrams as payment. Even though I did not reply, these folks persisted. Their emails came from different providers and contained harvested pics, first of a rifle and then various revolvers. Different names were used. The grammar and spelling was awful. They said they were located in Chessie VA. I wish that I had more to offer but the emails were quickly deleted because of virus concerns.
DB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please be careful!!
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 5:44 am 
Offline
Single-Sixer

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 1:09 pm
Posts: 416
Location: Northern Ohio
What's with Ohio Armslist? I have an ongoing WTB ad for a KMK4. Last week a response was emailed to me offering one for sale. I requested pics and the seller's location. No reply yet. :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please be careful!!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:15 pm 
Offline
Bearcat

Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 8:20 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Raleigh, NC
Is there any safe online payment (like paypal) usable for firearms transactions?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please be careful!!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 3:41 pm 
Offline
Blackhawk

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 2:01 am
Posts: 800
Location: Grants Pass,Oregon
If they won't take your check, don't deal with them!

_________________
Ray Morgan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Please be careful!!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:39 pm 
Offline
Blackhawk

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:19 am
Posts: 973
Location: Missouri
I posted a WTB for gunsmithing books on S&W Forum a few years back. Got a reply from a guy in FL who had a nice set for $400. I was about ready to send payment when I started getting cold feet when he didn't know a few firearm details. I bailed on the deal and he complained to the mods. I told them the deal and thought it was done until he sicced a nigerian scammer on me. He may have lost his membership over that. WTB ads seem to attract the scammers.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mishtub, USMCXD and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group