Building a custom Ruger 77 tang safety 260 rem

Help Support Ruger Forum:

dgr416

Single-Sixer
I am building a custom 260 rem on a ruger 77 tang safety 243 win with iron sites .I wish I could put the iron sites on the new barrel is that possible. What barrels work best with Rugers. I HAVE a Boyd's laminated stock that's awesome looking with the black forend on it .I will use the original stock too .I have been using my ruger tang safety 338 ruger 77 for 33 years now its time to down size .I really like the 260 rem and I want a stainless barrel. I thought the iron sites would look cool on a stainless barrel. I thought about just selling the 243 barrel with the sites on it and not using open sites if they can't be used again .I am putting a 24 inch barrel on it. This should be an awesome rifle It will have a 1 in 7.5 twist .This will be my last hunting rifle .

TBear77

Single-Sixer
I am building a similar rifle in 260...but went with a 20-inch barrel and am putting it into an ultralight stock.

The sights can be removed, there is a detent pin under the sight that holds it on. The hole is just aft of the front sight blade; use a stout pin or a punch to depress the detent pin and the front sight blade will slide off toward the muzzle. Then the front sight has a set screw holding it on. The aft sights will need to be drilled/tapped on your new barrel.

Here's the rub...your new barrel will need to be profiled so that the muzzle is the same diameter as your 243 barrel. So if your 243 barrel has a muzzle diameter of 0.550" at 22", then your new barrel will also need the same muzzle diameter at 24". Any of the barrel manufacturers can profile to that muzzle diameter, and may be willing to install the sights for you. I used McGowen Barrels and they did a turnkey job on the new barrel for me.

hope this helps,
Ted

robertkirksey

Blackhawk