Mini-14 ...... firing pin length from bolt face

Help Support Ruger Forum:

20 August 2019

I just installed a new Glend Arms firing pin in my Mini-14.

I found a website which said, "The factory will fit one with .020" protrusion, but for absolute reliability, .025" or .030" is superior."

I did some filing-to-length and the maximum measured protrusion on the new pin is now .027". Yesterday I did 100 rounds of test fire, no problems.

Here's some pictures of the dimple in the primer, does this seem excessive ?? I have no experience with "how deep is too deep" and would welcome some insight.

57786_600x400.jpg

57787_600x400.jpg

57788_600x400.jpg

UPDATE 03 SEP 2019

I bought a Glend Arms firing pin from MidwayUSA.

Based on the above suggestions, I pulled the firing pin and shortened it by 0.003", protrusion from the bolt face is now 0.024". Then reassembled and test fired 120 rounds, no problems.

Here's a sample of primer dents with the shorter firing pin ......

57886_600x400.jpg

Rick Courtright

Hawkeye
Hi,

Two questions:

1. Was there something wrong with the factory pin, as in misfires, broken, or otherwise defective?

2. If the factory pin was not defective, how far did it protrude? Those last pix with 0.024" protrusion still look like the pin's hitting plenty hard.

Rick C

27 February 2020

As the OP, I would like to update this thread which I started back in August 2019.

UPDATE: the firing pin broke today !! After only 1,572 rounds fired, the Glend Arms firing pin broke. But not as expected: it was the back end which separated from the main shaft, not the tiny tip. Weird.

This makes 2 Glend Arms firing pins which have broken in my particular Mini-14. I've now learned my lesson and will find a firing pin that will get the job done.

I would like to write a letter to Glend Arms, might anyone have their mailing address ?? Otherwise I'll 'net search for it.

K1500

Single-Sixer