RugerForum.com

This is a Ruger Firearms enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent Sturm Ruger & Company Inc. of Southport, CT.
It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 12:52 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2019 6:19 pm 
Blackhawk

My daughter recently started carrying. I have been carrying for years, many years if you include when I was in the military. She is an excellent shot, and pretty level headed, although has not had as much experience out in the world dealing with people as I have. We try and do something together every week. We go to the range, take pictures, go to a movie etc.

We need a plan in case there is a life threatening situation that requires one or both of us to defend ourselves, or one another.

My initial thought is to let me take the lead, and for her to remove herself from the immediate area, but be watchful and ready to intervene if the situation dictates. I trust her to be able to handle herself, however, one must take the lead. I have more training, would rather the consequences fell on me than her, and darn it as her father I feel the instinct to protect her rather than her me. Although I'm OK with that if need be.

We have talked about different scenarios in general, mostly about when to draw, and when to shoot, when not to shoot, but no specifics about us working together.

Anyone have any plans they care to share on working together with an armed friend, partner, family member?

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2019 7:03 pm 
Hawkeye

Well, I'd rather my companion stay within arm's reach. Having your Daughter retreat right into a second BG isn't what you want.
My plan is this: If there's going to be shooting, I'm going to be the the primary shooter. The companion is the designated "back-up" or takes over if I run dry.