FIrst Vaquero Six-Shooter

Help Support Ruger Forum:

brentonguy85

Bearcat
This is my first time posting on this forum. Glad to be here. I am planning on purchasing my first six shooter! Originally, I had planned to get a Colt SAA but after doing a lot of research I have come to the conclusion that I would be just as happy if not more happy with a Vaquero. They seem more durable and I don't have a need for a safe "queen". I have an older stainless Police Service Six and I love it! It's a rock of a gun.

Here's my dilemma: I don't know which Vaquero to get. It seems with guns nothings ever simple anymore. lol I really like the sheriff's model barrel length but I tend to sway towards blued guns although that is not a requirement. I'm not into cowboy action shooting.. mostly this would be my personal gun for fun and possibly carry. I have the opportunity to get either an old model blued sheriff vaquero with a cch case in .45LC or a new "Montado" in stainless .357mag. I am unsure which way to go as I have concerns about the color case issues I've read about in the old blued vaquero models. I also had been looking at the .45acp Talo birdshead in blue, which I really liked but I can't stand birdshead grips so that one is likely a no-go. Which one would you choose and why? Thought I would come here to ask the experts! Thanks for the help!

contender

Ruger Guru
Welcome to the Forum!
The Vaquero,,, vs the New Vaquero,,, vs a Blackhawk. (Yes,,, I'm throwing in the Blackhawk for a reason.)
The Vaqueros do not have adjustable sights. Depending upon ammo & sight regulation,,, it can make a difference. For a first SA revolver,,, you MAY want to look at a Blackhawk so you can use a lot of different ammo & regulate the sights easier.