Gp 100 question

Help Support Ruger Forum:

mdevillier

Bearcat
I am new to the ruger forum. I have a question and would appreciate any advice that any of you would be willing to give me. I am about to purchase a gp 100 357. Although I am sure this question has been asked before, I was wondering if it would be better to go with the 4" or the 6". This gun will obviously not be a carry gun, but it will serve a dual purpose. That being for home defense as well as some good old fashioned range time. Again, I thank you for your suggestions.

jstanfield103

Blackhawk
For you're use the 6" with longer sight radius and the longer barrel gives you more velocity for range work and plates. That is the same use, mine are used for and I traded my 4" for the 6" just for that and could not be happier.

hittman

Staff member
For home defense AND range time ..... I'd select 4-inch.

Range ONLY ..... I'd pick 6.

Welcome to the Forum.

Chuck 100 yd

Hunter
I own 6 GP100's of all barrel lengths. If I could have just one it would be the 4".
Almost as accurate as the 6" with better balance in the hand. It just feels right in the hand.

schloss

Single-Sixer
That's a tough question, despite purposes, because in the end, you like what you like. I prefer the 4" stuff, but I know many that seriously hate them, and go for 6" instead.

You should get what you like best, in terms of appearance and feel. try everything if you can.

wolfsong

Staff member
For me, the 6inch barrel with the half lug balances perfectly for me, over the 4 inch full lug. I own a 6 inch full lug, a 6 inch half lug and a 4 inch full lug. The 6 inch half lug is my go-to gun. If I'm in the field it's on my hip.

That's just me. Shoot as many variants as you can and decide for yourself. There's the perfect GP 100 out there for you. In the mean time, practice, practice, practice with the one you have now and then practice some more.

Welcome to the forum. Happy and safe shooting!