speed six finish question

Help Support Ruger Forum:

My LGS has a Speed Six with the 3" bbl and it has a 'lusterious' shine. It's like a high polish stainless you see on the vaqueros. Never seen one that shiny before, even the hammer and trigger are 'high polish'. Did Ruger make a Speed Six with this type finish or is it likely it has been made over. The trigger is very smooth, but it has Pachmyer rubber grips. I think it was born about 1980.
The markings are all clean and sharp so if it's been on a polishing wheel, nothing is washed out.

Three50seven

Buckeye
I'm no expert, but I'd say it was done at some point after it left the factory. I have a S&W 681 that's the same way, looks more like nickel than stainless steel. If done well, I think it looks great.

hittman

Staff member
Doubt the finish is original.

If it truly is 3 inch and not 2.75 ....... makes me wonder if it's one of the USPS guns.

If it's marked by the LGS as 3", I'd check it for myself. And no, the factory did not do high polish SS speed Sixes, it would be an aftermarket job. To assess the polish job, look at it closely, especially around the barrel/frame joint and other places that many polishers can't get to. Also look very closely at the lettering, and the flutes on the cylinder and see if they are rounded any. Some people get heavy handed with the polishing wheel and this will show up as the lettering isn't as crisp as it should be.

If it truly is a 3", then you need to check the serial number to see if it is one of the USPS guns. But even then, the USPS guns were not a high polish finish.

edlmann

Blackhawk
Consider this post edited from another thread:

weaselmeatgravy said:
. . . a factory high polish stainless 2-3/4" old frame Security Six. All the guns letter as having shipped in 2009 (some with dual ship dates) and they all had the modern then-current orange bar-coded end labels.

GA32-150-55384-High-Polish-Right.jpg~original

GA32-150-55384-High-Polish-Box.jpg~original