Colt barrel on a Blackhawk?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Bob Wright

Hawkeye
I've heard of adapting Colt SAA barrels to Ruger Blackhawks. Think I have a line on a New Frontier 7 1/2" .357 Magnum barrel. I am thinking of having this put on a Ruger Three Screw Blackhawk .357 Magnum.

What is entailed in doing this? Difficult but doable? Easy swap? New ejector housing?

Bob Wright

flatgate

Hawkeye
Bob, I've zero experience with the SSA. Thread pitch and diameter need to match or a "too" long barrel that'll be happy with some machine shop TLC.
JMHO,

flatgate

wwb

Hunter
Your money, your choice.

I've always felt that Colt/Smith, Colt/Ruger, Smith/Ruger, or whatever, barrel swaps didn't really accomplish anything. It's something folks did just because they could..... and it's not cheap if you have a gunsmith do it.

As a side note, it may be a mortal sin to do it to a 3-screw... got any New Models?

REP1954

Blackhawk
You need to have a 3rd generation barrel to do this. Colt 1st and 2nd generation threads do not match. The barrel will have to be clocked so the front sight is in the correct posltion at the same time leaving stock to set the barrel cylinder gap. The ejector rod housing also will need to be fit at the same time to make sure it fits to its length or leaves extra stock to trim it to fit. A very costly venture to be sure but those NF barrels are beautiful to say the least.

Bob Wright

Hawkeye
wwb said:
Your money, your choice.

I've always felt that Colt/Smith, Colt/Ruger, Smith/Ruger, or whatever, barrel swaps didn't really accomplish anything. It's something folks did just because they could..... and it's not cheap if you have a gunsmith do it.

As a side note, it may be a mortal sin to do it to a 3-screw... got any New Models?

It accomplishes exactly what I want ~ a medium framed, three screw Single Action .357 Magnum revolver with a 7 1/2" barrel.